Skip to content

Portrait: Saint Gianna Beretta Molla

April 28, 2007

molla2_221.jpg

From Idle Speculations:

“A few days before the child was due, although trusting as always in Providence, she was ready to give her life in order to save that of her child: “if you must decide between me and the child, do not hesitate: choose the child – I insist on it. Save the baby”.

On the morning of 21 April 1962 Gianna Emanuela was born by Caesarian section. Despite all efforts and treatments to save both of them, on the morning of 28 April, amid unspeakable pain and after repeated exclamations of “Jesus, I love you. Jesus, I love you”, the mother died of septic peritonitis. She was 39 years old.”

Read the entire post here.

From → Portraits

2 Comments
  1. Liz Heasley permalink

    Please pray for me to Saint Gianna, that my husband and I will be able to get pregant and have a healthy child. We are still very young and have been trying for a year now with no luck. We really want a family. So please pray for us! Thank you:)

  2. L martin permalink

    Please pray for my husband and I Blessed Gianna that we will be able to conceive a healthy baby girl soon 🙂 and give her all of our love

Leave a Reply

